Banana Bread Biscotti
November 4, 2007, 7:30 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

I tried this recipe out today, and it’s like crunchy banana bread. It didn’t call for nuts, so I think next batch I’m going to add a cup or so of walnuts, to make it more like banana-nut bread.

banana_biscotti.jpg

I didn’t have any Banana Nut Crunch cereal, so I used Honey Bunches of Oats, and crunched up about 1/2 cup of dried banana chips. I’m thinking any sort of flakes n clusters cereal would work. Walmart’s Great Value Nature’s Grains cereal is kind of cinnamon-y, It would be good here, maybe even better than the one I used. The banana bits need to be pretty small, I just kind of broke them up, and they made it a little difficult to slice the loaf.
I used real butter instead of margarine, because I’m funny that way. I don’t think it affected the recipe adversely. I think it calls for margarine because Kraft Foods makes margarine.

I found the dough to be a bit on the sticky side, so I added about 1/2 cup of flour in addition to what it called for, and that made it easier to work.
with. It’s a pretty sticky dough even with that, so use a generous amount of flour on your hands and the countertop when you shape the loaf.

For the second baking, I lowered the oven temp to 250 degrees and baked them for an hour. I like my biscotti to be very dry and crisp.

I recommend this recipe, it’s easy, and tasty. I’m making some for Christmas!

Banana Biscotti from Kraft Food and Family magazine
2 cups flour
1-1/2 tsp. CALUMET Baking Powder
1/4 tsp. salt
2/3 cup sugar
1/2 cup (1 stick) margarine, softened
2 eggs
1 ripe banana, mashed
1 tsp. vanilla
1-1/2 cups POST SELECTS BANANA NUT CRUNCH Cereal, crushed
1 square BAKER’S Semi-Sweet Baking Chocolate

PREHEAT oven to 325ºF. Mix flour, baking powder and salt until well blended; set aside. Beat sugar and margarine in large bowl with electric mixer on medium speed until light and fluffy. Add eggs, bananas and vanilla; beat until well blended. Gradually add flour mixture, mixing until well blended after each addition. Stir in crushed cereal.
DIVIDE dough in half with floured hands; place on lightly floured surface. Roll each half into 14×2-inch log. Place, 2 inches apart, on nonstick baking sheet.
BAKE 25 to 30 min. or until lightly browned. Remove from baking sheet to wire rack; cool 5 min. Transfer to cutting board. Use serrated knife to diagonally cut each log into 12 slices. Place, cut-sides up and 1/2 inch apart, on same baking sheet. Bake an additional 12 to 15 min. or until slightly dry. Remove to wire racks; cool completely. Melt chocolate as directed on package; drizzle over biscotti. Let stand until chocolate is firm. Store in tightly covered container at room temperature.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

