Halp!
January 24, 2008, 8:59 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

I have 8 oz of premium wild smoked salmon, and I have no idea what to do with it. I read some recipes at FineCooking.com and Epicurious.com and they all seem to involve cream cheese, dill and red onion. I read a frittata recipe, a soup recipe, all the same stuff with the cream cheese, dill and onion. What have you done with smoked salmon that worked? All I know of for sure is to put it on a bagel w/ cream cheese, or scramble it in eggs. I want some new ideas.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Smoked Salmon Quiche:
It is all in the pastry base. Really!!! What you want is something that is firm and interesting, and for this reason I added about 20 almonds that I had ground into small crumbs. They are surprises in the pastry. In addition I added half a teaspoon on rough crushed extra hot red chillies and half a cup of grated tangy Hergard cheese from Sweden. The other ingredients are 3 cups of flour and six table spoons of olive oil. Mix the whole lot in a bowl until it looks like a pastry dough. Squeeze it though your fingers untill all the crumbs are bonded together. Then place it in the centre of a big baking dish and press it out from the centre to the edges until it covers the dish. Put it in the oven and bake for 10 minutes at 350 Now for the killer filling and I do mean killer filling since the amount of calories and fat and cholestorol is equivilent to a heart attack on a plate. Crack three eggs into a bowl and add i container of sour cream and half a cup of grated strong mature black label Emental. Then add three large dollops of mayonase, and five finely cut mushrooms.
Beat the hell out of the mixture and when it looks thick and creamy pour it into the pie dish and then sprinkle some smoked salmon over the top and dust down with som Parmesan cheese. Pop it in the oven for 40 minutes at 325 and sit back and enjoy the aroma that fills the kitchen.
Course where you are at- you might use corn meal in place of almonds, and any dry stinky cheese in the crust, and with a house full of boys I do not call it quiche but pie.

My favorite way to eat it is on rye crisp slathered with butter, minced onion on top and a squirt of sweet creamy mustard and a shot of cold vodka or aquavit

Comment by labmunkay

WOW that sounds amazing! As for the cheeses, Emental I can probably fine but I’ve never heard of Hergerd-what sort of standard domestic cheese would substitute? The next time I’m at the Dekalb Farmers Market I’ll see if they have any.
We do call it pie here.

Comment by rootietoot

Parmigiano reggiano cheese would do.

Comment by labmunkay




Leave a Reply

