Looking at Recipes
July 3, 2010, 11:49 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

I looking at James Beard recipes and for the most part they make me happy. They call for stuff that’s relatively locally available. There might be issues finding salt cod for the brandade de morue, but honestly, I am fairly sure just about anything can be found in Savannah and most of the ingredients can be found locally.
I discussed the whole thing with Terry, and he suggested picking recipes that alternate between simple and complex, and plan on a monthly trip to Savannah for the more esoteric ingredients. Since we are going to Atlanta later in the week, he also said to read up, and we’ll stock up on stuff at the Dekalb Farmers Market. They have EVERYTHING and it’s CHEAP. And I’ve seen the salt cod there, in stacks.

What I haven’t yet decided, and this will be based on the recipes in the cookbook, is whether to make one or two recipes a week, or one or two a day. The idea of cooking through a 647 page cookbook in a year is daunting, and since I’m not doing this in hopes of a book deal or publicity, I may just kind of go with what feels right for that day. We’ll see. I will say this, that researching the recipes (I love the internet!) has been enlightening, and delightful. I can’t wait to try them!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

