The problem with writing a recipe
August 19, 2010, 1:52 pm
Filed under: Philosophical

I hardly ever measure anything. I pour until it looks right, add pinches until it smells right, brown until it’s brown…I never keep track. The only thing I ever actually meausre is when biscuits are being made, and even then it’s kind of not measured. I know about what 3 cups of flour looks like, and how big a spoonful of shortening (or lard…holy crow, lard biscuits are fantastic especially if you use whole fat buttermilk. Yes my arteries clog as I am writing this) and how much buttermilk to pour.

Sigh.

So it’s hard to cook something and write the recipe down because I worry that whoever is reading this is the kind of person who needs precision. I have a dear friend who requires precision and for her sake I try very hard but it’s not my way.

So bear that in mind when you use a recipe from here. Everything is approximate. Err on the side of caution to start with. If it says 1 tablespoon of something, you might want to start with a teaspoon and add a little bit if you think it needs more. If a biscuit recipe says a cup of buttermilk, it might actually be 3/4 cup or 1-1/2 cups. Start with 3/4 and add more as you need to.

I’m telling you…I don’t do precise and it’s why I’ll never write a real cookbook.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

