Woops! Sorry!
September 20, 2010, 12:54 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Ok I have been out for a bit…life interferes with fun sometimes! So here’s the deal upcoming at Rootie’s Kitchen. Once I see the orthopedist (long story, refer to The Mess at my other blog ) and detemine the path for the next while, I am going to start making stuff for the freezer. So, instead of James Beard (sigh…) there will be recipes for soups, stews, casseroles and sauces, stuff to freeze so the household can easily prepare a dinner when I am unable to. I am WIDE OPEN to suggestions for tasty easy-freeze-and-fix meals…so help a girl out here! And bear in mind that I live in Statesboro, Ga, which translates as “pretty basic ingredients”. Today, however, I’m going to talk about what was made in the kitchen Saturday, and how it’s going to carry over into tonight.

Saturday, even thought I find Guy Fieri HIGHLY annoying, I made a recipe he featured on one of his shows called “Le Hog Pizza” because it looked like something my family would TOTALLY embrace, and so they did. However, the recipe called for this really creamy white sauce full of parmesan cheese and oh mah heavenly saints and angels it was AMAZING, but the recipe made about 4 times as much as was needed for the pizza and I needed something to do with it, because it is AMAZING and DELICIOUS and TOO GOOD TO PITCH so what to do?

Well on th menu for tonight is creamy chicken and rice soup. Since the AMAZING and DELICIOUS white sauce has chicken broth in it I thought well Ok, let’s dilute it with more chicken broth (it’s thick) and make a creamy soup…right? Right! So there’s chicken breasts that will be roasted and shredded and cooked again so they’re brown and crispy. I’ll add some herbs like parsley and maybe oregano (fresh from the garden and also in the broth, I know this because I made it), and wild rice…I’ll let you know. If the sauce that is AMAZING and DELICIOUS makes it that long because honest to goodness, it’s got garlic and onion and parmesan cheese and black pepper and cream and could be eaten with a spoon right out of the carton. I had to keep tasting it when it was in the pot waiting for the pizza because a long time ago a very wise woman told me anything eaten from a wooden spoon didn’t have calories.

So remember, recipes for easy to freeze meal thingies, purty please!

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Baked Eggs- because your family will enjoy a hot breakfast that Sunday.
Mix 6 slices cubed bread, 2 cups grated cheddar, 1 cup cubed cooked ham, 1/4 cup cubedd green pepper and 1/4 cup cubed onion. Spread in 9×13 dish. Whisk 6 eggs with 3 cups milk; pour over cubed stuff. Cover with foil and freeze. To serve, thaw, bake uncovered 45 minutes at 375.

Comment by JerseyChick




Leave a Reply

