Not the typical thing
November 17, 2010, 2:13 pm
Filed under: How To Land A Man

Generally I don’t use boxed or pre-made stuff. However, the exception is when making chili. Wick Fowler’s 2-Alarm chili mix is outstanding, and practically perfect in every way. However (you knew that was coming) I do NOT follow the recipe on the box. Here’s how I like to make it:

1 box Wick Fowler’s Chili Mix
2 pounds stew meat, cut into dice-sized pieces
2 tablespoons oil
1 large (28oz) can crushed tomatoes
1 large can petite diced tomatoes
4 cans plain pinto beans
Brown the stew meat in th e oil. Add the tomatoes and everything in the Wick Fowler’s box EXCEPT the little packet of masa.
Simmer over low heat for an hour or so, or put it all in a crock pot and cook on low for several hours.
20 minutes or so before serving, mix the little packet of masa with 1/4 cup water, and stir into the chili. this will thicken it and give it a little bit of corn flavor.

Serve with a pan of cornbread or Frito’s corn chips.

I hear there are parts of this fine country that serve chili on rice or even (WHAT?!) pasta. I’ve had it on rice and it’s not bad, and in fact is a pretty good way to make the stuff stretch a ways, which is good when you’ve had a houseful of teenaged boys. I haven’t tried it on pasta, because I was born in Texas and have a feeling the DRT (Daughters of the Republic of Texas) will show up in the yard and plant it with Choyo cactus.. I’ve never told my parents about serving it on rice, because I do value my relationship with them. However, to each their own.

In the interest of being fair, I’ve tried other chili kits. McCormick in the little envelope isn’t horrible, but lacks the depth of Wick Fowler’s.

Carroll Shelby makes a kit as well, and I found it to be disconcertingly sweet.

Terry (my husband) makes it sometimes using seasoned “Chili Hot Beans” and the packaged McCormicks and it’s not too bad, but I am fond of a good cumin and oregano flavor in there, and his method lacks that.
There’s plenty of discussion about the authenticity of adding beans. Apparently Texas style has no beans. Nor tomatoes. It’s just meat and a thick gravy with the heavy seasoning. I don’t care for that. I want tomatoes and beans. Pinto beans, not black ones or kidney ones or any sort of fancy ones. Just good ol’ pinto beans. You can make them from dried beans, but be sure cook them first. Honestly, canned pintos are just as good, quite cheap and way way easier.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

I have seen Wick Fowler’s ’round these parts but I’ve never really looked. I will now.

Comment by Bella Rum




Leave a Reply

