Chicken Soup for a cold
December 3, 2010, 6:55 pm
Filed under: Easy but not quick, Poultry

What’s a good remedy for a cold? Garlicky peppery hot hot chicken soup. Or maybe garlic soup with a little chicken. Or pepper soup with garlic and chicken. When we lived in Alabama, my favorite was the hot and sour soup from Mandarin House, but that’s 4 hours away. I love Jewish Penicillin but it takes 24 hours to make and when I need the soup I need it tut suite. Not 24 hours from now.

So today I am going to make rich, garlicky peppery chicken soup.

In a large crock pot put:

4 chicken thighs
8 cups water
1 yellow onion, chopped
2 really heaping tablespoon minced garlic
several generous grinding of black pepper…ok more…little more…some more
a double generous pinch of dried tarragon
some salt
Cook for several hours
Pull out the thighs and pick the meat off of them, shred the meat and put it back in the crockpot. Add:
1/2 to 3/4 cup brown rice
Let cook a while more until the rice is cooked. taste it and add salt to your preference.

If I were a more patient and focused person (I hab a code id by doze and the gin which is by fav’rit remedy id affecting by judgement) I would roast a head of garlic and add that but today I am not.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

