Kitchen Sink Cookies
January 22, 2011, 12:22 pm
Filed under: Cookies

These are not your great-aunt Bessie’s dainty tea cakes. Big, chunky and full of nearly everything that makes a cookie good, these are grab-a-fistful-and-carry-one-in-your-mouth-as-well and I like to think of them as zero-sum gain cookies, because they have nuts and oats and dried fruit in them to balance the butter, brown sugar and chocolate chips (only it’s DARK chocolate, which EVERYONE knows is GOOD FOR YOU).

Grab you a handful!


I have a friend who’s going through a rough time. Since she lives in Connecticut and I live in Georgia, it’s impossible for me to hold her hand, buy her a coffee, or babysit her kids. That frustrates me because I am a Martha. In Luke 10:38-42 (in the Bible) there’s these 2 sisters, Mary and Martha. Jesus is at the house and Mary is busy hanging out with Him while Martha’s in the kitchen doing all the work and getting annoyed at Mary for not helping fix the casseroles. So now, in Christian churches, someone like me, who prefers to be DOING SOMETHING is called a Martha, and when I can’t DO SOMETHING I get very frustrated. Then The Ladies tell me I should be praying, that *that* is DOING SOMETHING, but I’d rather bake cookies or make a casserole because it’s hard to get past the idea that a tangible result is what’s optimal. And let me tell you what, these cookies are certainly tangible, and I’m sending them to Connecticut.

When I bake cookies, I like them crisp, not soft. I like to use butter, not shortening, because it adds flavor and is SO GOOD with dark brown sugar. Most cookie recipes call for light brown, and I almost always use dark brown and have been know, from time to time, to even add a swirl of dark (not blackstrap) molasses, because the earthy flavor is SO GOOD. This is your basic cookie recipe of butter, sugars, eggs and flour, with oats and goodies. You can use either vanilla or almond extract and one time I didn’t have either (hush) and used bourbon, which was a totally different flavor but pretty fine in it’s own right. Use whatever kind of nuts you like. My friend requested walnuts, and since she’s a food person too, that’s what I used. Pecans,actually, are my favorite, but I am out of them until I find someone with a pecan tree who’s willing to share. Dried cranberries are excellent,especially if you add a bit of orange zest to the dough. I used dried cherries because seriously, people, DRIED CHERRIES. YUM. Raisins,of course, are the old standby for oatmeal cookies. But dried cherries…seriously, people, DRIED CHERRIES.

Anyway,here we go,

Kitchen Sink Cookies
Preheat the oven to 375F and grease a couple of cookie sheets.

1 cup unsalted butter, softened
1 cup white sugar
1 cup dark brown sugar
2 eggs
2 tablespoons milk
1-1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract (or almond,or even bourbon)
1-1/2 cups all purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
4 cups old fashioned rolled oats (or the 5 minute kind…whatever you have)
1 cup chocolate chips (I used dark)
1 cup chopped walnuts
1 cup dried cherries

Cream together the butter and sugars. Add the eggs and vanilla and cream some more.

Stir the flour, soda and salt ina separate bowl

Mix together the creamed stuff and the dry stuff

Then add the oats and stir until completely combined

Add the nuts, chips and cherries. Stir until well combined

Glob onto a well greased cookie sheet about 2 inches apart because they spread a bit.

Bake 15-18 minutes at 375F, then immediately remove from the pan onto a towel or rack to cool.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Yummy!
Here’s a hint for people who prefer soft cookies over crunchy: more white sugar, less brown. My choc chip cookie recipe out of the classic Joy of Cooking calls for equal parts of brown sugar, white sugar and butter. I keep the sugar and margarine ratio the same,
(for sweets only–real butter with sugar gives me heartburn–I prefer real butter with meat and dinner foods tho.)

but I cut the brown sugar measurement in half and replace it with white sugar. So for this recipe, I’d use 1 1/2 cups of white, and 1/2 cup of golden brown sugar. I’d also check for doneness at 14 minutes instead of 17 or 18.

If you like crunchy cookies, don’t change a thing. These look amazing šŸ™‚

Comment by xena




Leave a Reply

