The smoked Boston Butt, finished!
March 4, 2012, 11:13 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , ,

The thing about this particular butt recipe is that it comes out looking black and…ominous. It however, is anything but that. It is delicious and sweet and smoky and wonderful. It took 9 hours to cook, instead of the expected 12 or so. That was nice because I wasn’t really looking forward to having to stay up past my bedtime dealing with the cooked meat.

Scary looking smoked Boston Butt

That pink ring just under the crust is a smoke ring, and says it's delicious.

Pulling the meat apart with forks, which are also used to fork heathens who try to nab all the crusty bits.

I made a simple sauce to go with it- basically just ketchup, mustard, vinegar, brown sugar, black pepper, and a touch of molasses. I do not care for most commercial sauces, as they taste…well…commercial. This sauce is very simple with no esoteric ingredients, just stuff most people already have.

The heathens dispatched of what meat I left out for them (most of it was packaged away for a celebration later in the week) in short order, with arguments over which was best, the inside meat or the outside meat. I prefer the outside, with the smoke ring and sweet crusty stuff…and the bit of fat. Oh yes the fat is spicy and silky and…not at all gross. It is, I am sure, fattening. But that is why one does not eat barbeque like this every day, but reserves it for celebrations such as the one upcoming later in the week. Others prefer the inside meat, with it’s gentle flavor and juiciness. It’s fortunate that we don’t all love the same thing because then there wouldn’t be enough for everyone.

Simple and easy Barbeque sauce for pork

1-1/2 cups apple cider vinegar
1 cup ketchup
1/4 cup brown sugar
2 tablespoons yellow prepared mustard
2 teaspoons ground black pepper
a drizzle of molasses (I’d guess about 2 tablespoons. I eyeballed it)
Stir together in a pot on the stove and simmer for about 15 minutes.
Cool and serve with the pulled pork.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Hi Rootie. I’m so glad I started going through Ren’s blog roll. I was brand new to Blogland when everything turned bad for me, so I kept it down to 4 or 5 blogs for lack of access to technology, etc.

Now that Hugo’s been so overrun with haters, and feministphilosophers is just too high-minded bc I’ve been away from the academics for awhile, and I’m cozy at my sister’s with the kids, I have time and room for more and different blogbuddies. YAY!

I wish I’d seen your recipes a couple of weeks ago. Now I know better. That buttroast looks yummy. I’m trying to stay away from beef&pork and be a good humanitarian, but my sister keeps tempting me. She staggers in after her nightshift on her bleeding legs, with some ginormous carcass slung across her back and says “You can cook this. I had to carry it home. My legs are killing me.” What’s an aspiring ethical bird-eater supposed to do with that? Support the needs of the bleeding carcass that’s still alive over the one that’s already dead, I guess.

I don’t think it would be wise to smoke something where I am. My land lady would probably call the cops bc I don’t have a proper smoker. But I know that if I hang around here, I’ll find some amazing oven recipes. I’m thinking of doing some gardening, too 🙂

Comment by xena

well HEY Xena! Poke through the blog here, you might get an idea or two. My other blog, http://becauseitreallyispersonal.wordpress.com has gardening stuff sometimes, tho is it more just…y’know…ordinary things. Honestly I can’t say much about gardening in The Great White North, because I’ve never done it. anyhoo- I am REALLY glad to see you here! Welcome!

Comment by rootietoot

Thanks, Rootie. I’m completely clueless about gardening. I managed to kill every gift plant I’ve ever owned, including a potted amarillus and a cactus, if you can believe that.

I’m thinking about trying to grow some vegetables. Beans, potatoes, maybe carrots and/or broccoli, to save money on food. Those things grow well up here, apparently. We just have a shorter growing season. From what I understand, most people start planting late April to about mid-May, depending on the weather. The first crops come up in mid to late June. Then there’s usually enough good weather left to squeeze in one more crop. Most of it has to be picked by early September, except for things like apples, corn, pumpkins and squash. We usually get frost by the second week of October. Sometimes sooner. I’ve actually seen snow that early. Summers are touchy, too. I’ve seen the temperature drop to 45 degrees in July, ruining harvests all across the province, and forcing us to buy expensive imports. The exact opposite can happen in July&August, too. 110 degree heat and lack of rainfall can ruin crops up here. The weather’s unpredictable.

I’ll take a peek. ttfn. I’ll be chatting with you again soon.

Comment by xena




Leave a Reply

