Tastes Like A Brownie hot chocolate
December 9, 2013, 5:12 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

When I was a kid, Mom made hot chocolate mix ever year. It was the one made from the Nestle’s Quik chocolate milk stuff, instant creamer, and powered milk. Now, I grew up with that and like it just fine. But, because this is how we roll around here, I wanted to do something MORE and BETTER, without the powdered instant stuff (well, except for the milk, I guess) and it needed to be Too Good For Children. Of course, that is up to you, what you do with it, sharing and all. I wanted it rich and dark and real and even a little scary, maybe. Like dessert or mousse or something.

hot chocolate4

So, I looked up Alton Brown’s recipe, because his recipes are nearly always wonderful, only I didn’t want to use powered sugar because I’d bought a couple of things of turbinado sugar and I like that different flavor it has. And no cayenne pepper. I know it’s all the thing this past few years to go full-on Mayan and add cayenne pepper to the chocolate but I am all “Hey this is the Deep South where we like things the way Mama did it” and Mom didn’t add cayenne to the hot chocolate tho I am pretty sure if someone had told her about it she would have. Mom still is a culinary adventuress. Maybe I will add come cayenne to hers and see what happens.  Anyway, I read another recipe somewhere that added grated up white chocolate to make it richer. Then, the though occurred that if adding white chocolate is good, then adding milk chocolate as well would only be better. Then I decided that dark cocoa would be nice, because really. Dark chocolate. Right? Right.  So it’s not his recipe anymore. Now it’s mine. David taste tested it, and he said “huh. It tastes like a brownie, Mom.” Thus the name.

Ingredients! Use real stuff, not fake stuff!

Ingredients! Use real stuff, not fake stuff!

Tastes Like A Brownie, Mom hot chocolate mix.

1 large bar REAL white chocolate

2/3 bag of milk chocolate chips (real chocolate, please)

2 cups Special Dark cocoa powder

1 cup turbinado sugar (or regular white sugar)

2-1/2 cups powdered milk

2 teaspoons corn starch

1/2 teaspoon salt

Shred the white chocolate in a food processor. I use the grater disc. Put in the large blade and the chocolate chips. Process until it is all a fine powder.

Grated white chocolate, milk chocolate chips

Grated white chocolate, milk chocolate chips

Add everything else (the food processor will probably be pretty full. I know mine is.) Turn it on, and let it mix for a while. How long? Until it’s all mixed and there’s no lumps or bits or anything. Maybe 5 minutes? Something like that.

Put it into containers for gift giving! Little mason jars would be perfect!

Serve with a spoon or a peppermint stick and stir it a lot while drinking

Serve with a spoon or a peppermint stick and stir it a lot while drinking

s!

Use 2 heaping spoons full in a 6 ounce cup of very hot water. It needs to be nearly boiling in order to melt the chocolate. You can let it cool a bit after, but the nearly boiling hot is important. Trust me, it’s worth it.  When you serve it, stick in a spoon and stir it a bit as you drink it, to keep the chocolate from settling to the bottom. A peppermint stick would make a good stir thing. Marshmallows! Of course! I haven’t made them yet. That is for another day.

a creepy Santa mug is the perfect thing to serve it in.

a creepy Santa mug is the perfect thing to serve it in.

 

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I made the recipe as directed and mixed it with water as directed (using heaping soup spoons) and it tasted pretty watery to me. I used more (about twice as much) and that was good. Just an observation from one person.

Comment by srraSusan

Thank you for that! Observations are always a help to other people who read this.

Comment by rootietoot




Leave a Reply

